Despite the confusion with its name, buckwheat isn’t actually a variety of wheat. Whereas wheat is a type of grass and is called a ‘cereal’, buckwheat is actually a plant that contains seeds, not grains, and so we refer to it as a ‘pseudo cereal’. Chia and quinoa are also considered pseudo cereals. Buckwheat is gluten-free and the seeds can be ground into flour to make into products in the same way as other grains.
If you have nutrition questions you’d like answered, please submit them HERE using the contact form on our Contact page.